A year ago today…

I never actually thought that by attending a college course one night a week for a year would lead to a new career…..

A year ago today, 19th July 2013, the day before my 35th Birthday, my last day at the ‘day job’ (the one I’d had since the age of 18) and the next chapter in my professional life was about to begin.  Whilst I had started my own business  in 2010, which has grown in a way I never thought possible, the thought of leaving a secure job in Financial Services with all the perks and salary filled me with a slight fear and a little anxiety.

On the one hand it was an easy decision to make because I was so passionate about my business and felt ready to make the break but also a very hard one for all kinds of reasons.  Whilst it has been a bit of a scary ride at some points, which I’m sure all self employed people go through one time or another when they take a leap of faith for something that is your passion and means everything to you, but I will be completely honest, I have never been happier.  I have no regrets and I cannot wait to see what the future holds.  It’s been a phenomenal year with all kinds of different projects; editorial work, TV (seeing my name in the credits on the show I worked on was a massive career high), having opportunities to work overseas and my ever growing weddings and brides – whom I am so very privileged to work with and not to mention the fabulous collaborations I have had the pleasure of working on.

A huge huge thank you to everyone who has supported me along my journey (industry friends, fellow wedding suppliers, my amazing family and friends), long may it continue and for my business to continue to grow and develop.

There are some exciting changes coming along very soon to Victoria Farr and I cannot wait to share them with you, keep your eyes peeled!

Have a fab weekend everyone, it’s my birthday tomorrow and I’m looking forward to celebrating that too over a glass of fizz!

Much love

V x

Images from my pinterest board – http://www.pinterest.com/victoriafarrmua/

8 thoughts on “A year ago today…

  1. Congratulations Vicki, an absolutely fabulous start to a very long and successful career. You’re a pleasure to work with and I wish you and your business all the very best of luck for many more years to come. Happy Birthday tomorrow, I hope the Champagne flows… Best wishes from Lisa & Chris at The Wedding Affair

    • Thank you Lisa and Chris for your kind comments and wishes, as I said I am so very grateful for all the support I have received, including The Wedding Affair.
      Here’s to another cracking year x

    • Thank you Fiona! It’s always great to receive feedback and I’m so happy that I have inspired you in some way. Congratulations on giving up the day job in pursuit of your passion, wishing you the vet best of luck and hope that I can support you some way x

Leave a Reply

